Quai du Polar – And the 2023 winner is

Flash update, my second choice came in first, see the bottom of this article

After having debated (with myself), the 2023 reader’s prize goes to Tristan Saule’s ‘Héroïne’

I have read through the shortlist for the reader’s prize, just in time, and several of the books were good so, after reading my previous write ups, much like Goldilocks I first eliminated:

L’affaire de l’île BarbeSurin d’Apache 1 de Stanislas Petrosky – AFITT Éditions
This book is too short
The crime itself and its resolution, or in this case non resolution felt like a book only half finished.

Then again like Goldilocks I eliminated

Le Blues des phalènes de Valentine Imhof – Éditions du Rouergue
This book is too long
The subjects, all 4 of them, could have each represented a book all alone, well researched judging by the pages of references, in places interesting, but I just kept looking at my watch.

But I also know when I am beaten.

Pas de littérature ! de Sébastien Rutés – Éditions Gallimard.
I didn’t read this one
2 years ago I did try to read the last of his to be selected for this short list, but it was unreadable (I very rarely give up). I’m not sure how the short list is drawn up but Gallimard can do better!

So then in third place:

Le Tableau du peintre juif de Benoît Séverac – Éditions La Manufacture de livres
Then begins a Tour de France and of Spain as he seeks to unravel the story and clear his grandfather’s name. I must admit that I lost a little interest as he went from location to location with descriptions of the places etc; not a winner for me.

Next we come to the two finalists, I enjoyed both books but there has to be a winner, so in second place:

Nous étions le sel de la mer de Roxanne Bouchard – Éditions de L’Aube
The facts, or the memories of this story: another sea death when every fishing family has lost someone at sea, this is not an unusual event, are slowly, almost reluctantly distilled over 300 pages as Roxanne Bouchard slows the story down to the speed of the sea.
This is a clear possible winner.

And Finally Goldilocks says ‘this one is just right’:

Héroïne de Tristan Saule – Le Quartanier Éditeur
This really was rather an excellent story with a twist at the end. A real competitor for the prize!

Leave a comment