Linwood Barclay ‘Fear the worst’

This is a book I listened to in its French version on Audio book during my daily commute, I was looking for something simple to read, a thriller. This book is about the disappearance of a seventeen year old daughter of an ordinary everyday divorced looser who is trying to keep his head above water. This disappearance gives him the chance, via his tenacity, to prove himself to all around him. So much for the plot, the story is a linear approach where the reader and the narrator discover at each turn the next improbable twist. This story left me frustrated at this approach, there is no thinking required from the reader. I was so happy that I listened to this book whilst driving rather than waste good reading time!

I will avoid Linwood Barclay in the future.

image

One thought on “Linwood Barclay ‘Fear the worst’”

Leave a comment